Former OUSA President Paris Meilleur with Teaching Award Winner Douglas Kirton at the 2010 Partners in Higher Education Dinner

The Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes educators who excel at unlocking the potential of Ontario’s young people. It is our pleasure to give these remarkable professionals the recognition they deserve. Successfully engaging individuals in the learning experience is highly dependent on an instructor’s ability to spark the desire to learn in students.

A good textbook and a high-tech classroom are not enough to provide a quality education.  An excellent instructor will be able to engage their students in the process of learning and discovery and help them develop the thinking and learning skills that form the foundation of a high quality educational experience. With this in mind, the Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance annually presents its teaching awards to professors from each of our member campuses, that have taken this role to heart and have been selected by their students as examples of teaching excellence.

Past winners are listed below:

2022 –

Dr. Madelyn Law, Brock University
Dr. Kathryn S. Plaisance, University of Waterloo
Dr. Cayleih Robertson, McMaster University
Dr. Blake Dotta, Laurentian University
Dustin Ciufo, Trent University Durham
Dr. Thomas Tieku, Western University
Dr. Kristin Hulme, Queen's University
Dr. Ken Jackson, Wilfrid Laurier University

2021 –

Dr. Tyler Pattenden, Western University
Dr. John McNamara, Brock University
Dr. Christine Goodwin De Faria, Trent University Durham
Dr. Tara Bissett, University of Waterloo
Dr. Wing Hong Chan, Wilfrid Laurier University
Dr. Pamela Toulouse, Laurentian University
Dr. Diane Beauchemin, Queen’s University
Dr. Kate Whalen, McMaster University


Dr. Tara Bisset, University of Waterloo
Dr. Tyler Patenden, Western University
Dr. John McNamara, Brock University
Dr. Christine Goodwin De Faria, Trent University Durham
Dr. Wing Hong Chan, Wilfrid Laurier University
Dr. Pamela Toulouse, Laurentian University
Dr. Diane Beauchamin, Queen’s University
Dr. Katherine Whalen, McMaster University

2019 –

Dr. Laura Cousens | Brock University
Dr. Sara Burke | Laurentian University
Dr. Nikol Piskuric | McMaster University
Dr. Ronald Easteal | Queen’s University
Daniel Travers | Trent University
Dr. Brenda Yasie Lee | University of Waterloo
Mark Robert Baker | Western University
Dr. Deanna Yerichuk | Wilfrid Laurier University

2018 –

Dr. Simon Black | Brock University
Dr. William Crumplin | Laurentian University
Dr. Catherine Anderson | McMaster University
Dr. David McDonald | Queen’s University
Dr. Alba Agostino | Trent University
Dr. Norm Klassen and Dr. Chad Wriglesworth | University of Waterloo
Dr. Tarek Loubani | Western University
Dr. Edmund Pries | Wilfrid Laurier University

2017 –

Dr. Ebru Ustundag | Brock University
Dr. Nikolai Penner | McMaster University
Dr. Richard Ascough | Queen’s University
Dr. Amanda Paxton | Trent University
Dr. Frankie Condon | University of Waterloo
Dr. Sarah McLean | Western University
Dr. Scott Gallimore | Wilfrid Laurier University
Kathleen Zinn | Laurentian University

2016 –

Dr. Hevina Dashwood | Brock University
Dr. Chad Harvey | McMaster University
Dr. Kip Pegley | Queen’s University
Dr. Joel Baetz | Trent University
Michelle Ashburner | University of Waterloo
Dr. Radoslav Dimitrov | Western University
Dr. Christopher Anderson | Wilfrid Laurier University

2015 –

Dr. Laurence B. Mussio | McMaster University
Dr. Jacqueline Davies | Queen’s University
Dr. James Cosgrave | Trent University
Prof. Rohan Jayasundera | University of Waterloo
Dr. Lawrence Garber | Western University
Dr. Rebecca Godderis | Wilfrid Laurier University

2014 –

Dr. Tamari Kitossa | Brock University
Dr. Matthew Tegelberg | McMaster University
Prof. William Newstead | Queen’s University
Dr. Ben Bauer | Trent University
Dr. Josh D. Neufeld | University of Waterloo
Dr. Quazi Mehbubar Rahman | Western University
Dr. Sofy Carayannopoulos | Wilfrid Laurier University

2013 –

Alex Shum | University of Waterloo
Diane Bielicki | Brock University
Dr. David Brock | McMaster University
Dr. Alan Abelson | Queen’s University
Dr. Jason Roy | Laurier University
Dr. Anita Woods | Western University
Dr. John Hayword | University of Windsor

2012 –

Dr. Hevina Dashwood | Brock University
Dr. Gordon Stubley | University of Waterloo
Dr. Mercedes Rowinsky-Geurts | Wilfrid Laurier University
Dr. Dick Day | McMaster University
Dr. Eleanor MacDonald | Queen’s University
Dr. Kevin Milne | University of Windsor
Professor Julie Gosse | University of Western Ontario

2011 –

Professor Laura Prelipcean | Brock University
Dr. Mark Seasons | University of Waterloo
Dr. Bruce McKay | Wilfrid Laurier University
Dr. Bob Henderson | McMaster University
Dr. Sidneyeve Matrix | Queen’s University
Dr. Kathryn Lafrniere | University of Windsor
Professor Marilyn Norman | University of Western Ontario

2010 –

Dr. Victoria Remenda | Queen’s University
Professor Doug Kirton | University of Waterloo
Dr. Kris Gerhardt | Wilfrid Laurier University
Professor Tim Murphy | Brock University
Dr. Ben Lester | University of Western Ontario
Dr. Jill Singleton-Jackson | University of Windsor
Professor Govind Rao | McMaster University

2009 –

Dr. Carolyn Eyles | McMaster University
Dr. Robert B. Mann | University of Waterloo
Dr. Peter Ferguson | University of Western Ontario
Dr. Trevor Pitcher | University of Windsor
Dr. Kerri Lappin-Fortin | Wilfrid Laurier University

The award is handed out annually at OUSA’s Partners in Higher Education Dinner in Toronto. Each student association is responsible for nominating and awarding its teaching awards.